AFRAID TO DIE

“It was a beautiful Sunday afternoon and one of the happiest days of our lives; or so we thought,” sobbed Jason, as he relived the tragedy of that wonderful, yet horrifying afternoon. “Our family was having a picnic in the midst of Spring in the waking. We were celebrating Cindy’s birthday.  Our precious daughter was sixteen that very day.  We had gone to our favorite spot situated in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains overlooking our home. As we sat there eating, laughing and enjoying our special time together, it seemed that all of nature came out to join us in our celebration.  The birds nesting in the trees above us were singing as they had never sung before.  All about us the trees and flowers were putting forth their newness of life. The sweet smell of honeysuckle drifted softly through the warm air about us.

Cindy had a gentle and loving spirit that, like Snow White, seemed to mesmerize some of nature’s little creatures that day. Yes, Cindy was a good child; well-mannered, responsible and obedient.  That’s why it pleased me so much to give her the little red sports convertible that she had wanted so much for her sixteenth birthday.  Our family car and the little red convertible were parked across the highway that rounded a curve leading up the mountain.  My wife and I were about to leave our picnic site when we noticed Cindy had gone on ahead of us.

Cindy’s long blond hair bouncing in the wind as the sun’s rays shone upon it, and the beauty of her own budding young figure as she ran across the grass brought back fond memories of our lives together. She was our only child, you see.   Jenny and I had wanted a child desperately.  We had been married fifteen years when we found out about the baby on the way.  Selfishly, I wanted a daughter; so when Cindy was born, I was the happiest Father in the world.

Suddenly terror struck as I saw a tractor trailer rounding the curve at a high rate of speed. Cindy had seen it too; and she had seen the little raccoon with the wounded leg she had bandaged move into the highway.

My heart sank to my feet as I saw Cindy dart into the highway after the raccoon. I screamed but my cry was muffled by the roaring of the passing traffic.  I ran as quickly as I could and knelt down by her side as she lay there crushed on the pavement.  I held her in my arms as she whispered, “Daddy, Daddy, help me — Daddy, I’m afraid to die.”  My own body froze in shock and anguish as I felt the warmth leave her now lifeless body.  My life passed before my eyes as I recalled the fool I’d been.  I never wasted my time going to church and saw no need for my Cindy to be influenced by the hypocrites I knew to be on every church role.  I refused to talk to anyone about my religious state, assuring anyone interested that I was doing just fine.

It was just a couple of weeks earlier that the revival tent had come to town. Cindy went along with some friends to the meeting.  As I was passing that way on the way home one night, I decided to peek through the slit in the tent.  As the invitation was given, I saw my daughter crying and it looked as if she was going to go down to the altar.  I turned and left, seeing that she had not gone down.  At home later that evening, I told her what I had seen.  Because of my own pride and bitter contempt for religion, I lashed out at my beautiful daughter.  I told her if she ever went down the aisle of any church, she would not be welcome at home.

I returned the next night as it was the last night of the revival to see what would happen as the invitation was given. I saw my daughter shivering and crying uncontrollably as she ran out of the tent and to our home.  Later that evening, she met me at the door.  Still trembling, she said, “Daddy, I did like you wanted me to do. I wanted to go Daddy, but I didn’t go down the aisle — I didn’t ask Jesus to be my Saviour.” ”

It was all Jason could do to get through the funeral. Back at home, instead of comforting Jason; Jenny packed a suitcase and walked out on their marriage.  They had enjoyed a happy, blissful life together.  Regrettably, Jenny had never gone against Jason; not even when she knew in her heart he was wrong.  Now the guilt of her own weakness would haunt her all the days of her life.

Jason lived the next few weeks in his own self-made hell. Overshadowed by thoughts of suicide, Jason walked out of his house one night, wandering aimlessly through the streets.  Suddenly, hearing the comforting sounds of music, Jason followed the sound to a little church.  Taking no thought of himself, as he had been walking in a daze, Jason slipped into the little church and sat on the back row pew.  The Spirit of God spoke to Jason that night and as the invitation was given; he slipped out of his seat and went down to the altar.  There at the altar where he had forbidden his daughter to go, Jason found God’s love and forgiveness.  Through God’s amazing grace, Jason found the strength to go on with his life one day at a time.

Cindy died without Christ and will spend eternity in hell. Neither her innocence, nor her loving and obedient nature could change her destiny.  How did this happen?  Who’s to blame?  Was it Jason and his parental authority?  Was it Jenny and her weakness, or her lack of Godly example?  Or was it simply because of Cindy’s desire to please her Father? 

Whatever the influence upon her life, Cindy made the choice that sealed her destiny. She heard the gospel of Jesus Christ and was convicted of her need for the Saviour. She chose to reject the Holy Spirit’s call to salvation; thus rejecting Jesus Christ, the only way to eternal life in Heaven.      

Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.   John 14:6
He that loveth father or mother more than me is not worthy of me: and he that loveth son or daughter more than me is not worthy of me.   Matthew 10:37

If Jesus came today
or if you were to meet with sudden tragedy
that swept your life away,
Do you know with 100% certainty that your soul would go to Heaven?

You can be certain — It’s as easy as A-B-C.

A.  Accept that you are a sinner; and God’s punishment for your sin is death and separation from God forever.                                                                                 “For all have sinned, and come short of the glory of God.”   Romans 3:23

B.  Believe that Jesus paid God’s price for your sin when He died on the cross. “But God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”   Romans 5:8                                                                                     “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”   John 3:16

C.  Confess and repent of your sin (call on Jesus in prayer and be sorry enough for your sins that you are willing to turn away from them); and come to Jesus by faith. The gift of eternal life is yours already — all you have to do is want it, then claim it.                                                                                                        “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the LORD Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For with the heart man believeth unto righteousness;   and with the mouth confession is made unto salvation.”   Romans 10:9&10                                       “For whosoever shall call upon the name of the LORD shall be saved.”   Romans 10:13                                                                                                                         “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: not of works, lest any man should boast.”   Ephesians 2:8&9

Assurance of salvation:                                                                                                     “The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God.”   Romans 8:16                                                                                                  “Therefore being justified by faith, we have peace with God through our LORD Jesus Christ.”   Romans 5:1                                                                                  “And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.”   Philippians 4:7                                     “For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come, nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our LORD.”   Romans 8:38&39

 

About isaiah4t31

My goal and purpose for this blog is to share bits and pieces of my life story, contrasting my life before and after I was saved. By the grace of God, I want to share what Jesus has done in my life that God might receive all the praise, honor and glory He so rightly deserves. I have learned that God uses people as instruments of His will. Therefore, as God gives me liberty, I want to highlight the influence various people have had on my life. I am only the pen; the Holy Spirit is the ink. I am simply a vessel willing to be used.
This entry was posted in Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment